Bettine Dress by Tilly and the Buttons

IMG_8912

I’ve just come back from a gorgeous week away with my family in the South of France and I quickly made a summery Bettine dress to take with me before I went. I had brought the Tilly and the Button’s Bettine pattern at the beginning of last summer but hadn’t got round to make it as I was busy preparing for our wedding. I wish I had done one last year as it’s a great summer dress and super easy to make.

I used a lovely palm tree print crepe from Minerva Crafts which was easy to sew with and wears well because it doesn’t crease. I cut out a size 3 with no modifications as I have made quite a few Tilly and the Buttons patterns before. It was very straightforward to sew and only took a few hours to whip up. It’s a relaxed fit dress with a gathered waistline using an elastic channel inside the dress and faux cuffs on the sleeves. You can choose to do a version with front pockets, but I went for the simplest version as I was in a rush to get it done before we left for holidays.

I particularly like the sewn down facing detail as not only does it add interest on the neckline, but it’s ridiculously practical. I’m always finding that neckline facings escape on my homemade clothes however much I understitch them, but this works a dream!

I am definitely going to make another Bettine in the future, as they are not only easy to sew but very easy to wear too.

FullSizeRender

 

 

Leave a Reply

