Oliver + S Liberty Print Baby Trousers

One of my best friends recently had her first child and I wanted to give a homemade gift to celebrate his arrival. I’ve made the Oliver + S bloomers in the past as a baby present, but I decided to invest in the Oliver + S Lullaby Layette pattern as I’ve got so many friends having babies at the moment that it was worth while!

FullSizeRender

I just made the trousers from the pattern and made up a straight 3-6 months as I wasn’t sure how big he would be and I’m guessing it’s nice to have some special outfits for your baby to grow into rather than lots of newborn gifts.

My friend is a massive Liberty print fan like me so I knew I wanted to make the trousers in a Liberty tana lawn. It was quite tricky to choose a print that wasn’t too girly, but I went with Wild Cats in black. I almost always get my Liberty tana lawn from Kats Fabric on eBay. She has lots of different prints and sizes of fabric on her shop and it’s much cheaper than buying direct from Liberty. Maybe I shouldn’t be telling you all this as it’s one of my favourite little Liberty secrets!

FullSizeRender (1)

The pattern was easy to follow and quick to make up which made for a satisfying evening’s sewing. It has an elastic waistband and back pocket details. My only comment would be that I found it odd that you topstitch the elastic casing down from the outside rather than the inside. I had to make sure my topstitching was super neat and even so that it didn’t show.

I’m very pleased with the result and I can’t wait to see baby Freddie wearing them soon!

FullSizeRender (2)

Leave a Reply

